Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Tuesday, October 14, 2014 2:58 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

More personal, local concerns, especially when it comes to taxes, often shape voting trends and election outcomes.

Monday, September 08, 2014 6:05 am
By Doug Whiteman · Bankrate.com

In this week’s podcast, a look at what’s ahead for politics and interest rates.

Friday, February 21, 2014 5:26 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

The president is stepping away from Social Security. But entitlements and taxes need attention eventually.

Wednesday, January 22, 2014 5:09 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

What’s wrong with those people in Washington? Just blame all the money, money, money coming their way.

Monday, September 30, 2013 5:31 am
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

Unfortunately for Americans and potentially for the global economy, dysfunctional Washington has managed to steal center stage once again.

Thursday, August 01, 2013 5:05 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

In recent days, the focus has been on the apparent emerging horse race to succeed Federal Reserve Chairman Ben Bernanke.

Tuesday, May 21, 2013 4:44 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

The furor over Internal Revenue Service targeting of conservative groups stole the show during a hearing intended to discuss financial stability.

Tags: CFPB, politics
Monday, May 13, 2013 9:43 am
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

IRS workers targeted conservative groups in processing tax-exemption applications. Now the fun begins on Capitol Hill.

Thursday, April 04, 2013 3:00 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Sequestration cuts are starting to be felt across the country, but Capitol Hill is stuck making purely symbolic gestures instead of reaching a financial solution.

Tuesday, March 05, 2013 3:14 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

Two endeavors — forecasting weather and forecasting economic impacts of Washington decision-making — actually should belong in the same place.

Page 1 of 212