Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Thursday, August 11, 2016 3:29 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Tax crooks don’t take the summer off. Some are out there now with a phishing scheme that pretends to come from tax software providers. Don’t fall for it!

Thursday, February 04, 2016 11:10 am
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Use tax software? Then you could be a target of phishing scams seeking to steal your identity this filing season.

Friday, January 29, 2016 6:05 am
By Mitch Strohm · Bankrate.com

A phishing scam helped expose tax and bank information for 1,400 university employees. Several suspects have been arrested.

Tuesday, January 05, 2016 4:41 pm
By Mitch Strohm · Bankrate.com

Names, addresses and voting records were among the exposed voter information.

Tuesday, December 01, 2015 12:26 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Tax professionals are the latest tax phishing target. But all sorts of scams, particularly related to charitable giving, pop up this time of year. Be careful out there!

Friday, November 27, 2015 6:05 am
By Mitch Strohm · Bankrate.com

Watch out for emails that seem like job recruitment ads for local big-box stores. It could be a phishing scam.

Tuesday, November 24, 2015 6:05 am
By Steve Weisman · Bankrate.com

How can you tell when an electronic greeting card is really a phishing scheme?

Friday, October 02, 2015 1:41 pm
By Mitch Strohm · Bankrate.com

Hackers have stolen the personal information of 15 million in a data breach of Experian.

Monday, August 24, 2015 6:05 am
By Mitch Strohm · Bankrate.com

Targets of the attack receive an email claiming the driver is “indebted for driving on toll roads.” Don’t click on that link.

Friday, July 25, 2014 1:30 am
By Allison Ross · Bankrate.com

That little lock icon on your bank’s website may be easy for hackers to pick, according to two recent reports.

Page 1 of 212