Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Tuesday, October 27, 2015 6:50 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

Social Security Disability, pensions and other retirement benefits also see changes in the deal.

Tuesday, September 29, 2015 4:18 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

A government report says most union pensions are stable, but some pensions face insolvency.

Monday, January 05, 2015 1:55 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

We’re living longer and that’s making it more expensive for companies to fund their old-fashioned defined benefit pension plans.

Tuesday, November 18, 2014 3:28 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

Some union pensions are running out of money and fixing the problem isn’t easy.

Monday, August 18, 2014 5:16 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

If you don’t have retirement savings, it is particularly important to get your retirement ducks in a row before you call it quits.

Friday, June 06, 2014 4:10 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

Some pension plans are grossly underfunded. One “solution” under discussion involves cutting benefits to current and future retirees. Is that right?

Friday, April 04, 2014 3:54 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

Pension plans of many unionized workers are threatened by shrinking contributions.

Monday, February 03, 2014 5:09 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

The Pension Benefit Guarantee Corp. splits union pension fund in an innovative move to save Hostess workers’ retirements.

Wednesday, January 08, 2014 5:25 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

The Pension Benefit Guarantee Corp. says it owes more than $280 million to about 31,000 pensioners whom it can’t find.

Wednesday, May 08, 2013 4:28 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

Fixing troubled, multiemployer union pensions won’t be easy.

Page 1 of 212