Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Monday, September 29, 2014 1:30 pm
By David McMillin · Bankrate.com

A new survey shows that more Americans are enjoying their day-to-day experience with their checking accounts. Why are some turning to alternative banking products?

Wednesday, September 17, 2014 2:57 pm
By Jeanine Skowronski · Bankrate.com

The agencies allege two groups used phony payday loans to access consumer bank accounts.

Monday, July 14, 2014 5:25 pm
By Jeanine Skowronski · Bankrate.com

Agency says ACE Cash Express pressured borrowers into taking out loans they couldn’t afford.

Tuesday, March 25, 2014 12:02 am
By Allison Ross · Bankrate.com

Some consumers end up paying more in fees than the amount of money initially borrowed.

Tuesday, February 18, 2014 6:05 am
By Dr. Don Taylor · Bankrate.com

Lending company allows clients to take out loans with most anything of value held as collateral.

Friday, January 24, 2014 2:55 pm
By Marcie Geffner · Bankrate.com

Four major U.S. banks exit deposit advance business, but might not be gone for long.

Thursday, January 16, 2014 3:52 pm
By Allison Ross · Bankrate.com

Amid increased scrutiny of deposit advances, Regions Bank says it will discontinue Ready Advance.

Friday, January 10, 2014 6:05 am
By Marcie Geffner · Bankrate.com

Issues with closing or managing a bank account made up the bulk of complaints.

Monday, January 06, 2014 6:05 am
By Steve Bucci · Bankrate.com

Workplace loans serve the same purpose as payday loans, and they can create the same issues.

Thursday, December 05, 2013 9:13 am
By Marcie Geffner · Bankrate.com

Federal regulators tell banks and thrifts to assess risks of deposit advance loans.

Page 1 of 3123