Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Thursday, July 31, 2014 5:00 pm
By Allison Ross · Bankrate.com

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau again has raised concerns about overdraft protections at banks, today releasing a report that says small debit card purchases lead to expensive overdraft fees. “Today’s report shows that consumers who opt in to overdraft coverage put themselves at serious risk when they use their debit card,” CFPB Director Richard Cordray

Friday, January 10, 2014 6:05 am
By Marcie Geffner · Bankrate.com

Issues with closing or managing a bank account made up the bulk of complaints.

Thursday, November 14, 2013 4:15 pm
By David McMillin · Bankrate.com

A new study reveals that, when it comes to checking accounts, where you live counts.

Tuesday, August 27, 2013 6:55 pm
By Marcie Geffner · Bankrate.com

A new report has called attention to potentially abusive aspects of bank overdraft programs.

Friday, July 12, 2013 4:55 pm
By David McMillin · Bankrate.com

A new study shows that one type of fee has been steadily rising at credit unions. What is it?

Friday, June 14, 2013 4:49 pm
By Marcie Geffner · Bankrate.com

A Pew Charitable Trusts study finds gaps in big banks’ checking account disclosure practices.

Tuesday, June 11, 2013 5:30 am
By Claes Bell · Bankrate.com

A new report from the CFPB suggests overdraft fees are still taking a heavy toll on consumers.

Monday, June 10, 2013 1:03 pm
By David McMillin · Bankrate.com

Are banking customers finally starting to smarten up about overdraft fees?

Tuesday, May 07, 2013 5:15 pm
By Marcie Geffner · Bankrate.com

The FDIC and OCC propose new supervisory guidance for banks that offer direct deposit advance loans.

Wednesday, February 06, 2013 1:34 pm
By Claes Bell · Bankrate.com

The United States Postal Service announced it will end Saturday mail delivery on Aug. 1. What will that mean for your finances?

Page 1 of 3123