Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Thursday, June 11, 2015 2:05 pm
By Jay MacDonald · Bankrate.com

Outgoing chief says a key component of the National Flood Insurance Program is out of control.

Thursday, June 04, 2015 2:05 pm
By Jay MacDonald · Bankrate.com

FEMA will review role of private insurer in flood insurance following Superstorm Sandy complaints.

Tuesday, March 31, 2015 6:05 am
By Jay MacDonald · Bankrate.com

One million homeowners could see flood premiums rise 10-18 percent this year under flood reform.

Friday, April 25, 2014 6:05 am
By Jay MacDonald · Bankrate.com

Lloyd’s of London leads charge of private insurers into flood insurance as Congress bungles NFIP reform.

Tuesday, March 18, 2014 6:05 am
By Jay MacDonald · Bankrate.com

A flood insurance fix may calm housing markets, but not low-income homeowners.

Friday, March 07, 2014 6:05 am
By Jay MacDonald · Bankrate.com

Condo owners have largely been quiet in the debate over Biggert-Waters flood insurance reform.

Friday, February 28, 2014 6:05 am
By Jay MacDonald · Bankrate.com

A new House proposal bodes well for congressional action on a Biggert-Waters flood insurance fix.

Friday, February 14, 2014 6:05 am
By Jay MacDonald · Bankrate.com

The House agrees to consider flood insurance fix, but it’s not the version the Senate just passed.

Tuesday, January 21, 2014 6:05 am
By Jay MacDonald · Bankrate.com

Amid a 9-month reprieve from rising flood insurance rates, hopes dim for a long-term solution.

Friday, January 17, 2014 6:05 am
By Jay MacDonald · Bankrate.com

While Congress dithers over a flood insurance fix, some homeowners are surviving with help from Lloyd’s of London.

Page 1 of 3123