Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Wednesday, June 03, 2015 7:00 am
By Dr. Don Taylor · Bankrate.com

For people who plan to rely on Medicaid for long-term care, knowing the differences in the states’ coverages may be a factor in deciding where they want to live in retirement.

Friday, May 08, 2015 7:00 am
By Dr. Don Taylor · Bankrate.com

The problem with self-insurance is that you don’t know when you’ll need the coverage. It’s not just for seniors; many people aren’t saving enough for retirement now.

Tuesday, February 10, 2015 6:05 am
By Jay MacDonald · Bankrate.com

Medicaid/CHIP enrollment rising as growing number of states expand Medicaid under Obamacare.

Tuesday, January 27, 2015 5:00 pm
By Dr. Don Taylor · Bankrate.com

Seniors can have a power of attorney in place, a health care directive and a will, but all of that planning can be overturned by a guardianship being established by a nursing home.

Thursday, January 15, 2015 2:26 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

The National Council on Aging has a to-do list for Congress to ensure more older Americans achieve health and economic security.

Wednesday, January 14, 2015 7:00 am
By Dr. Don Taylor · Bankrate.com

Renting versus buying is another decision. What’s available and affordable in the area where you decide to live is a consideration.

Tuesday, December 30, 2014 6:05 am
By Jay MacDonald · Bankrate.com

Physicians say Medicaid’s return to 2012 fees will leave increasing enrollees with fewer care options.

Monday, September 15, 2014 6:05 am
By Dr. Don Taylor · Bankrate.com

The middle class has a few options in paying for long-term care costs.

Tuesday, June 24, 2014 4:51 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

Medicaid might pay your nursing home costs, but is that what you want?

Wednesday, April 30, 2014 3:29 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

If you want Medicaid to pay for your nursing home costs, now is the time to figure out a plan.

Page 1 of 3123