Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Friday, August 26, 2016 12:46 pm
By Mark Hamrick ·

In her highly anticipated speech at a conference of central bankers in Jackson Hole, Wyoming, Federal Reserve Chair Janet Yellen noted that the U.S. economy is “now nearing the Federal Reserve’s statutory goals of maximum employment and price stability.”

Wednesday, March 02, 2016 1:22 pm
By Crissinda Ponder ·

The recent Fed rate hike affects private student loans, too. Borrowers might want to take a second look at their most recent billing statements.

Wednesday, December 02, 2015 4:03 pm
By Mark Hamrick ·

New remarks from the Fed chief and a new report suggest a rate increase is on track.

Friday, September 18, 2015 10:44 am
By Mark Hamrick ·

The interest rates guessing game has resumed very quickly following this week’s Fed meeting.

Wednesday, May 20, 2015 3:41 pm
By Mark Hamrick ·

Fed meeting minutes suggest policymakers aren’t eager to take the plunge to higher rates.

Wednesday, March 18, 2015 1:58 pm
By Sheyna Steiner ·

Fed keeps a key rate the same but signals a possible rate hike in the future.

Wednesday, March 04, 2015 4:13 pm
By Mark Hamrick ·

Harsh winter weather has put a chill on the Fed’s Beige Book economic survey.

Tuesday, February 24, 2015 2:06 pm
By Mark Hamrick ·

The Fed boss reminds Congress that the central bank will take its time with raising rates.

Monday, February 23, 2015 6:05 am
By Mark Hamrick ·

This week will feature a grilling of Fed Chair Janet Yellen and updates on inflation and housing.

Monday, December 15, 2014 9:26 am
By Mark Hamrick ·

For anyone keenly interested in the nation’s economy and financial markets, a full-fledged Federal Reserve meeting is a little like a present at holiday time. You’re not exactly certain what you’ll get, but you’ll have more than you had before. Whether the information is actually useful a year from now is uncertain. This week’s Fed

Page 1 of 812345...Last »