Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Friday, October 14, 2016 6:00 am
By Vera Gibbons ·

Here are some simple moves you can make to save money as we round out the year and gear up for 2017.

Tuesday, September 13, 2016 5:11 pm
By Kay Bell ·

When you turn 70 1/2, tax law demands you take some money out of traditional IRAs and other tax-deferred retirement accounts. One senator wants to make those required minimum distributions, or RMDs, later.

Tuesday, August 30, 2016 2:44 pm
By Kay Bell ·

If you miss the 60-day retirement plan rollover deadline, a new IRS ruling could save you from taxes plus the 10% penalty usually assessed in these cases.

Thursday, March 17, 2016 5:14 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps ·

If you turned 70 1/2 in 2015 and have an IRA or a 401(k), the IRS says you must take a withdrawal by April 1.

Monday, February 29, 2016 7:05 am
By Dr. Don Taylor ·

People with student debt are taking longer to find that career job that’s going to pay enough to contribute to a 401(k).

Thursday, January 28, 2016 3:26 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps ·

Congress and the president are both looking for ways to encourage retirement savings. Here are their suggestions and some others.

Monday, January 25, 2016 3:20 pm
By Dr. Don Taylor ·

If you’re 50 or older, catch-up contributions can help get your retirement savings back on track and correct the financial mistake of not contributing earlier in your career.

Thursday, November 12, 2015 1:09 pm
By Dr. Don Taylor ·

A relatively new way to hold down RMDs is to invest part of the account in a QLAC.

Monday, October 12, 2015 3:06 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps ·

Making it easier to save for retirement — especially for employees of small firms — is a growing business.

Monday, September 28, 2015 4:15 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps ·

Millennials need to stop talking and start saving if they want to retire, researchers say.

Page 1 of 1012345...10...Last »