Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Monday, January 26, 2015 6:00 pm
By Dr. Don Taylor · Bankrate.com

For those who can afford to do so, stop leaving investment returns behind by making both the 2014 and 2015 IRA contributions by April 15.

Tuesday, January 20, 2015 11:32 am
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

The president’s State of the Union speech will focus on ways to help middle-class savers while preventing high-earners from escaping taxes.

Wednesday, December 31, 2014 12:52 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

Don’t expect your retirement to be much like your parents because the times they are a-changing.

Friday, December 19, 2014 3:54 pm
By Sheyna Steiner · Bankrate.com

In December, Illinois passed a bill to roll out automatic IRAs for workers not covered by a workplace plan. You won’t believe who hates the idea.

Thursday, November 20, 2014 5:54 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

A new report by the Government Accounting Office urges Congress and the IRS to crack down on over-sized IRAs.

Wednesday, November 12, 2014 2:00 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

If you’re older than 70 1/2, the IRS demands that you pull some money from your tax-deferred savings accounts and give Uncle Sam his share.

Thursday, October 23, 2014 6:01 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

IRS raises limits on most retirement savings plans for 2015.

Thursday, September 18, 2014 10:30 am
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Do you take advantage of tax-favored retirement savings accounts? Congress is looking at ways to make IRAs and 401(k) plans more appealing.

Tuesday, September 02, 2014 6:00 am
By Sheyna Steiner · Bankrate.com

New rules around rollovers of individual retirement accounts could bite the owners of CD IRAs next year.

Friday, August 22, 2014 6:05 am
By Paula Pant · Bankrate.com

Looking for another way to solidify your retirement? Consider the health savings account.

Page 1 of 812345...Last »