Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Tuesday, March 03, 2015 6:05 am
By Jay MacDonald · Bankrate.com

The record-breaking winter may be contributing to a rethinking of climate change among insurers.

Thursday, February 19, 2015 2:05 pm
By Jay MacDonald · Bankrate.com

Flying drones and self-driving cars keep insurance actuaries wide awake imagining the liability risks.

Tuesday, January 27, 2015 6:05 am
By Jay MacDonald · Bankrate.com

Home insurance rates edged up 3.5 percent in 2014, auto insurance 2.1 percent, according to report.

Thursday, January 22, 2015 3:30 pm
By Jay MacDonald · Bankrate.com

Average home insurance premium tops $2,000 for first time, despite a decade-long absence of a major storm.

Tuesday, January 20, 2015 10:14 am
By Jay MacDonald · Bankrate.com

A rise in home explosions triggered by legal pot processing may pique the interest of insurers.

Thursday, January 15, 2015 2:05 pm
By Jay MacDonald · Bankrate.com

Overstuffing that tempting hideaway overhead can imperil your family heirlooms as well as your living quarters.

Thursday, January 08, 2015 2:05 pm
By Jay MacDonald · Bankrate.com

Just asking your insurer whether you should file a home or auto claim could result in a rate increase.

Thursday, December 25, 2014 2:05 pm
By Jay MacDonald · Bankrate.com

From Ebola to Obamacare, aerial drones to texting drivers, 2014 marked a year of change for the insurance industry.

Wednesday, December 24, 2014 12:00 pm
By Crissinda Ponder · Bankrate.com

How much would it cost for Lord Grantham to insure “Downton Abbey”?

Thursday, November 13, 2014 4:05 pm
By Jay MacDonald · Bankrate.com

Home insurers are taking steps to recoup losses for insuring roofs that won’t admit their age.

Page 1 of 612345...Last »