Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Friday, October 02, 2015 1:41 pm
By Mitch Strohm ·

Hackers have stolen the personal information of 15 million in a data breach of Experian.

Monday, August 17, 2015 4:15 pm
By Kay Bell ·

More tax identity theft victims from a hack of an IRS online service have been identified. The total now stands at 334,000.

Wednesday, March 04, 2015 1:39 pm
By Mike Cetera ·

These two simple steps can help keep your data — and your money — safe from hackers.

Tuesday, September 02, 2014 3:35 pm
By Kay Bell ·

Louisiana residents who got tax refunds via the state’s My Refund Visa debit card might have been hacked.

Thursday, August 28, 2014 1:00 pm
By Allison Ross ·

A number of U.S. banks, including JPMorgan Chase, were hit earlier this month by cyberattacks.

Wednesday, August 06, 2014 3:02 pm
By Jeanine Skowronski ·

A Russian cyber gang has allegedly amassed 1.2 billion email username and password combinations, but there’s no need to panic.

Friday, July 25, 2014 1:30 am
By Allison Ross ·

That little lock icon on your bank’s website may be easy for hackers to pick, according to two recent reports.

Thursday, July 03, 2014 1:08 pm
By Claes Bell, CFA ·

Wearable electronics, such as “smart watches,” fitness bracelets and, of course, Google Glass, are all the rage right now. But as usual, the technology may be moving faster than users’ ability to understand and deal with the potential risks.

Tuesday, June 17, 2014 6:00 am
By Allison Ross ·

Two Canadian 14-year-olds used an old ATM manual found online to hack into a Bank of Montreal ATM.

Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:24 am
By Claes Bell, CFA ·

Banks and government agencies partnered up to test their hacking defenses.

Page 1 of 212