Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Monday, December 23, 2013 6:05 am
By Judy Martel · Bankrate.com

The top 1 percent in income are expected to spend the most this holiday season.

Monday, October 07, 2013 9:00 am
By Judy Martel · Bankrate.com

Exuberance for gift-giving is back this holiday season, but with a twist.

Tuesday, October 01, 2013 9:30 am
By Katie Doyle · Bankrate.com

Enter Bankrate’s annual Halloween Horrors contest for a chance to win $100 at Halloween Express.

Wednesday, June 12, 2013 4:34 pm
By Jeff Fruhwirth · Bankrate.com

Here are seven inexpensive gift ideas for Father’s Day.

Friday, April 12, 2013 7:00 am
By Shannyn Allan · Bankrate.com

Here are some great gift ideas that will wow Mom while keeping you on budget.

Wednesday, February 13, 2013 11:06 am
By Shannyn Allan · Bankrate.com

Here are five frugal and fun way singles can celebrate Valentine’s Day.

Friday, December 21, 2012 10:49 am
By Kemberley Washington · Bankrate.com

Here are some last-minute, money-saving tips on Christmas gifts for all the last-minute shoppers.

Thursday, December 13, 2012 3:30 pm
By Carrie Rocha · Bankrate.com

These eight ideas all cost less than $5. Yet, they are tasteful and thoughtful.

Tuesday, February 07, 2012 6:32 pm
By Judy Martel · Bankrate.com

Leaving a charitable bequest is as easy as treating the charity as an heir on your various accounts. But combined with annual gifts during life, your donation could pack a lot more punch — for you and the charity. Here are three easy ways to make a bequest to a charity: Name the charity as

Tuesday, December 27, 2011 4:45 pm
By Judy Martel · Bankrate.com

For another year, the gift tax rate favors wealthy taxpayers who want to reduce their estate and at the same time make a financial gift. For the remainder of 2011 and through 2012, individuals can give up to $13,000 to as many recipients as they’d like without owing gift taxes. Unlimited financial gifts can be

Page 1 of 212