Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Saturday, December 20, 2014 6:00 am
By Tara Baukus Mello · Bankrate.com

The FTC has taken action against two car dealership chains for deceptively advertising the costs of buying and leasing cars.

Tags: autos, Cars, ftc
Tuesday, December 09, 2014 5:17 pm
By Mike Cetera · Bankrate.com

The search engine company has agreed to refund at least $19 million for in-app purchases on Android phones and tablets that kids made without their parents’ permission.

Saturday, December 06, 2014 6:00 am
By Tara Baukus Mello · Bankrate.com

The Federal Trade Commission has taken one step closer to changing its rules for used car sales to further protect consumers.

Wednesday, September 17, 2014 2:57 pm
By Jeanine Skowronski · Bankrate.com

The agencies allege two groups used phony payday loans to access consumer bank accounts.

Thursday, July 17, 2014 6:00 am
By Allison Ross · Bankrate.com

The FTC is raising awareness that those serving our country need to also be wary in guarding their finances.

Wednesday, June 04, 2014 11:21 am
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

More than one-third of all identity theft happens to people older than 50. Here are simple but effective ways to avoid it.

Wednesday, January 15, 2014 11:00 am
By Polyana da Costa · Bankrate.com

Homeowners who fell for a mortgage relief scam could get a share of a $3.6 million settlement.

Friday, November 01, 2013 2:18 pm
By Marcie Geffner · Bankrate.com

U.S. court stops fake payday loan collectors operating in Cleveland, Atlanta.

Tuesday, October 01, 2013 6:00 am
By Janna Herron · Bankrate.com

The FTC is sending $650,000 in refunds to consumers who were victims of two separate credit card scams.

Monday, February 11, 2013 4:09 pm
By Janna Herron · Bankrate.com

A recent FTC study shows those correcting credit report errors got a lower interest rate on a loan.

Page 1 of 212