Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Wednesday, November 04, 2015 6:05 am
By Mark Hamrick ·

Here are a half-dozen things to be on the lookout for in Friday’s employment report for October.

Monday, October 19, 2015 6:05 am
By Mark Hamrick ·

In this Bankrate podcast, we get dead serious about Halloween prices — and jobs.

Friday, May 08, 2015 2:51 pm
By Mark Hamrick ·

The worst fears about the economy were not confirmed by the Labor Department’s April jobs report. After a horrible-looking report last month, the economy appears to be growing again. We will not call it a Goldilocks employment report, but the Big Bad Wolf isn’t knocking at the door either. The numbers The unemployment rate dropped

Monday, May 04, 2015 8:30 am
By Mark Hamrick ·

In this podcast: Why job satisfaction is rising, and whether teens will find summer jobs.

Wednesday, February 04, 2015 4:59 pm
By Mark Hamrick ·

The oil industry is going through hard times again. What does that mean for the economy?

Thursday, July 24, 2014 11:46 am
By Mark Hamrick ·

New sign-ups for unemployment benefits drop to the lowest level in eight years.

Tuesday, July 01, 2014 6:05 am
By Mark Hamrick ·

This week’s employment report may provide more clarity about hiring, pay and other issues.

Friday, June 06, 2014 11:17 am
By Mark Hamrick ·

The government’s latest jobs report points to progress, though there’s still room for improvement.

Thursday, May 29, 2014 12:12 pm
By Mark Hamrick ·

A report showing a very weak economic performance during the first quarter is already being discounted.

Monday, April 28, 2014 3:18 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps ·

More people over 65 are working today than before. Some people can’t afford to quit; others just don’t want to.

Page 1 of 3123