Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Friday, March 07, 2014 3:28 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

The Labor Department says 175,000 jobs were added last month, while the unemployment rate rose.

Monday, March 03, 2014 6:05 am
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

Economists are hoping new reports offer more evidence that the economy simply has a little cold.

Monday, January 13, 2014 12:58 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

The healing of the job market has been frustratingly slow. ManpowerGroup CEO Jeff Joerres says this recovery is different.

Friday, January 10, 2014 3:20 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

Although unemployment dipped in December, the Labor Department reported that the number of jobs created fell far short of expectations.

Wednesday, January 08, 2014 4:58 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

Those looking for work should expect hiring to accelerate this year and the quality of jobs to improve.

Wednesday, December 04, 2013 4:24 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

The government Friday releases the November jobs report. Here’s what we’ll be looking out for.

Thursday, November 21, 2013 6:00 am
By Kemberley Washington · Bankrate.com

Here are a few tips to increase your income outside your day-to-day job.

Tuesday, October 29, 2013 11:54 am
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

With one crisis behind us and another possibly looming, what can we expect in coming months?

Monday, September 16, 2013 5:45 am
By Holden Lewis · Bankrate.com

Thomas Perez, the newly sworn-in secretary of labor, says employment is headed in the right direction, although too slowly.

Friday, September 06, 2013 4:00 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

On the surface, August jobs numbers released by the Labor Department might seem OK. But they’re not what one wants to see at this point in an economic recovery.

Page 1 of 212