Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Saturday, July 19, 2014 6:30 am
By Allison Ross · Bankrate.com

Promotional specials on CDs often don’t appear to be enough to draw consumers to deposit money into CDs.

Thursday, March 06, 2014 3:23 pm
By Allison Ross · Bankrate.com

Consumers have been shifting savings from certificates of deposits to more liquid accounts.

Thursday, October 24, 2013 5:04 pm
By David McMillin · Bankrate.com

Like banks, big credit unions might need to test how they’d fare in extreme scenarios.

Thursday, September 12, 2013 4:39 pm
By Claes Bell, CFA · Bankrate.com

A new study finds minority-owned banks tend to offer higher-than-average CD rates, especially on shorter-term CDs.

Wednesday, June 12, 2013 3:43 pm
By Marcie Geffner · Bankrate.com

Banks and thrifts achieved their 15th consecutive quarter of year-over-year earnings growth.

Friday, March 29, 2013 1:28 pm
By Claes Bell, CFA · Bankrate.com

The CFPB released information on thousands of complaints against providers of checking, savings and other bank services. Here are some key takeaways.

Monday, March 11, 2013 4:11 pm
By David McMillin · Bankrate.com

Ben Bernanke, Martin Greunberg and four other top regulators are named in a new lawsuit for the unsuccessful enactment of the Volcker rule.

Tuesday, February 26, 2013 6:05 am
By Marcie Geffner · Bankrate.com

The FDIC proposed a new rule that would clarify FDIC-insurance status of deposits in foreign branches of U.S. banks.

Tuesday, December 18, 2012 11:37 am
By Claes Bell, CFA · Bankrate.com

When deposit rates do recover, CD rates will lead the pack, one expert says.

Friday, November 16, 2012 5:15 pm
By Sheyna Steiner · Bankrate.com

CD rates vary a lot across the country. Though rate decisions are based on a number of factors, it all comes down to whether the bank needs more deposits.

Page 1 of 212