Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Friday, January 10, 2014 6:05 am
By Marcie Geffner · Bankrate.com

Issues with closing or managing a bank account made up the bulk of complaints.

Monday, November 11, 2013 4:00 pm
By Marcie Geffner · Bankrate.com

The CFPB is gathering information about areas of concern in debt collection practices.

Wednesday, November 06, 2013 9:51 am
By Janna Herron · Bankrate.com

The CFPB is asking for comments on debt collection to help create new consumer protections.

Wednesday, October 30, 2013 11:44 am
By Marcie Geffner · Bankrate.com

The National Consumer Law Center reports that archaic state laws force debtors into poverty.

Friday, September 20, 2013 6:05 am
By Janna Herron · Bankrate.com

The federal government hit JPMorgan Chase with $1 billion in fines for a bevy of practices.

Thursday, September 19, 2013 11:36 am
By Janna Herron · Bankrate.com

The federal government ordered Chase to clean up its debt collection practices and help affected consumers.

Friday, August 23, 2013 5:17 pm
By Marcie Geffner · Bankrate.com

A survey of state and local consumer protection agencies found no shortage of complaints.

Wednesday, July 10, 2013 9:43 am
By Janna Herron · Bankrate.com

Consumers can file complaints against debt collectors online with the CFPB.

Friday, May 10, 2013 6:13 pm
By Janna Herron · Bankrate.com

The California state attorney general is suing Chase for alleged credit card debt collection abuses.

Monday, November 12, 2012 6:05 am
By Marcie Geffner · Bankrate.com

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau will expand oversight of debt collection companies and gather complaints about credit reporting.

Page 1 of 212