Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Tuesday, July 22, 2014 6:00 am
By Allison Ross · Bankrate.com

The CFPB wants to hear consumers’ complaints about prepaid cards and other nonbank products

Thursday, July 17, 2014 6:00 am
By Allison Ross · Bankrate.com

In a move that could create further tension with banks but generate popularity with consumers wanting to vent, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau is proposing publishing more information on consumer complaints against banks. In particular, the CFPB wants to give customers the ability to publicly publish narratives of their experiences with a financial company. It

Friday, June 27, 2014 9:59 am
By David McMillin · Bankrate.com

A new report shows banking customers are still feeling the sting of high overdraft fees and confusing account terms.

Friday, May 23, 2014 12:16 pm
By Allison Ross · Bankrate.com

Some nonbanks have “systemic flaws” in how they treat consumers, the CFPB says.

Tuesday, May 20, 2014 5:18 pm
By Allison Ross · Bankrate.com

An unpaid medical bill from a hospital stay could be disproportionately affecting your credit score.

Wednesday, April 23, 2014 11:47 am
By Allison Ross · Bankrate.com

A small provision in many private student loan contracts could result in big consequences.

Tuesday, March 25, 2014 12:02 am
By Allison Ross · Bankrate.com

Some consumers end up paying more in fees than the amount of money initially borrowed.

Tuesday, February 11, 2014 12:32 pm
By Tara Baukus Mello · Bankrate.com

Auto lender Ally Financial is battling with the CFPB over its car loan practices.

Thursday, November 14, 2013 4:15 pm
By David McMillin · Bankrate.com

A new study reveals that, when it comes to checking accounts, where you live counts.

Tuesday, October 29, 2013 4:00 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

The CFPB today released four guides to help financial caregivers understand their responsibilities.

Page 1 of 41234