Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Tuesday, March 25, 2014 12:02 am
By Allison Ross · Bankrate.com

Some consumers end up paying more in fees than the amount of money initially borrowed.

Tuesday, February 11, 2014 12:32 pm
By Tara Baukus Mello · Bankrate.com

Auto lender Ally Financial is battling with the CFPB over its car loan practices.

Thursday, November 14, 2013 4:15 pm
By David McMillin · Bankrate.com

A new study reveals that, when it comes to checking accounts, where you live counts.

Tuesday, October 29, 2013 4:00 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

The CFPB today released four guides to help financial caregivers understand their responsibilities.

Monday, October 28, 2013 1:12 pm
By Marcie Geffner · Bankrate.com

Six federal agencies proposed new standards to assess financial companies’ workforce diversity.

Tuesday, September 24, 2013 6:30 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

Reporting suspected fraud doesn’t violate privacy laws, federal regulators confirm.

Friday, April 19, 2013 3:25 pm
By Barbara Whelehan · Bankrate.com

The CFPB’s recent report reveals that more than 50 designations for financial advisers are out there, and many do not require training.

Thursday, February 28, 2013 1:18 pm
By Claes Bell · Bankrate.com

One woman in the U.K. accidentally transferred $40,000 into the wrong checking account over two years.

Friday, April 13, 2012 3:33 pm
By Janna Herron · Bankrate.com

The CFPB posted a proposal allowing card issuers to charge what they wish before an account is opened.

Wednesday, February 29, 2012 4:47 pm
By Lucy Lazarony · Bankrate.com

American Express is facing enforcement action from the Federal Deposit Insurance Corp. and possibly the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau over the way late fees were assessed on some of its charge cards, according to its annual filing with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. In addition to credit cards, American Express offers charge cards that

Page 1 of 3123