Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Saturday, November 15, 2014 6:00 am
By Tara Baukus Mello · Bankrate.com

Credit unions will be looking to increase their car loan business in the next year, according to a new study by TransUnion.

Wednesday, October 08, 2014 5:00 pm
By Tara Baukus Mello · Bankrate.com

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau has proposed to extend its oversight to auto finance lenders that are not banks.

Wednesday, September 24, 2014 8:00 am
By Tara Baukus Mello · Bankrate.com

Payments for used car loans are on the rise, while loans to credit-challenged car buyers are not being given as freely.

Saturday, August 30, 2014 8:00 am
By Tara Baukus Mello · Bankrate.com

The news that an auto finance company distorted consumer credit records for years is a good reminder to check your credit report regularly.

Saturday, June 21, 2014 6:00 am
By Tara Baukus Mello · Bankrate.com

More Americans are taking on car loans and those loans are bigger than they’ve been in recent years.

Tuesday, March 04, 2014 5:09 pm
By Tara Baukus Mello · Bankrate.com

Car lenders and the CFPB are still at odds over auto loan lending practices.

Wednesday, February 26, 2014 10:14 am
By Tara Baukus Mello · Bankrate.com

More consumers are making their payments on time, according to Experian.

Saturday, December 14, 2013 6:05 am
By Tara Baukus Mello · Bankrate.com

Car buyers are taking advantage of low interest rates by taking out larger auto loans.

Saturday, November 16, 2013 6:05 am
By Tara Baukus Mello · Bankrate.com

The CFPB held an Auto Finance Forum recently to discuss auto lending discrimination.

Wednesday, August 28, 2013 6:05 am
By Tara Baukus Mello · Bankrate.com

Americans’ balances on their car loans haven risen over the last year, while late payments have remained flat.

Page 1 of 212