Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Wednesday, September 07, 2016 4:43 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

A Fed report indicates hiring is heating up, but maybe not enough to prompt a rate hike.

Wednesday, July 13, 2016 4:17 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

The Fed’s new Beige Book economic survey says the economy is growing and some jobs are going begging.

Monday, July 11, 2016 6:05 am
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

The economy still has some stuff to work on, but it’s making a comeback.

Wednesday, June 01, 2016 4:26 pm
By Stephen Pounds · Bankrate.com

The Fed says the economy is baby-stepping toward growth as consumer spending edges higher.

Wednesday, March 02, 2016 4:41 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

The Fed’s latest economic survey finds a growing economy, despite weak spots.

Wednesday, January 13, 2016 4:59 pm
By Sheyna Steiner · Bankrate.com

As it gets ready to look at interest rates again, the Fed says the economy is OK.

Wednesday, September 02, 2015 4:22 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

A report released ahead of the Fed’s interest rate decision indicates the U.S. economy is doing OK.

Wednesday, July 15, 2015 4:29 pm
By Sheyna Steiner · Bankrate.com

Federal Reserve Chair Janet Yellen says higher rates are “likely” this year as the Fed releases an upbeat survey.

Wednesday, June 03, 2015 3:40 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

A Fed survey shows the economy is growing but probably not ready for a rate hike.

Wednesday, April 15, 2015 4:23 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

The Federal Reserve relies heavily on the words “modest” and “moderate” in describing economic activity around the country over the past six weeks. The Beige Book economic survey, prepared for the late April meeting of Fed policymakers, points fingers at a variety of factors that have been dampening growth. Some issues, such as the since-resolved

Page 1 of 41234