Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Wednesday, April 15, 2015 4:23 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

The Federal Reserve relies heavily on the words “modest” and “moderate” in describing economic activity around the country over the past six weeks. The Beige Book economic survey, prepared for the late April meeting of Fed policymakers, points fingers at a variety of factors that have been dampening growth. Some issues, such as the since-resolved

Wednesday, January 14, 2015 4:34 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

The Fed sees falling oil prices as good news and bad news for the economy.

Wednesday, December 03, 2014 4:06 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

The Fed sees positive impacts from cheaper gasoline but is not so upbeat about raises.

Wednesday, September 03, 2014 4:20 pm
By Sheyna Steiner · Bankrate.com

A new Fed report finds improvement in the economy, though not necessarily in paychecks.

Wednesday, July 16, 2014 5:22 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

The Federal Reserve finds plenty of signs of a rebound from the winter slump.

Wednesday, June 04, 2014 4:14 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

A new Fed survey indicates the economy is picking up steam but still has issues.

Wednesday, April 16, 2014 4:16 pm
By Allison Ross · Bankrate.com

The Fed finds that the winter thaw has helped the economy rebound from cold-weather slowdowns.

Wednesday, March 05, 2014 4:33 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

The Fed’s Beige Book survey of regional economic activity reflects a tough winter.

Thursday, January 16, 2014 4:00 pm
By Allison Ross · Bankrate.com

The Beige Book, a compilation of reports from regional Federal Reserve banks, shows the U.S. economy continues to grow at a moderate pace.

Thursday, December 05, 2013 10:05 am
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

The Federal Reserve’s Beige Book doesn’t shed much new light on where things are headed.

Page 1 of 3123