Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Wednesday, September 02, 2015 4:22 pm
By Mark Hamrick ·

A report released ahead of the Fed’s interest rate decision indicates the U.S. economy is doing OK.

Wednesday, July 15, 2015 4:29 pm
By Sheyna Steiner ·

Federal Reserve Chair Janet Yellen says higher rates are “likely” this year as the Fed releases an upbeat survey.

Wednesday, June 03, 2015 3:40 pm
By Mark Hamrick ·

A Fed survey shows the economy is growing but probably not ready for a rate hike.

Wednesday, April 15, 2015 4:23 pm
By Mark Hamrick ·

The Federal Reserve relies heavily on the words “modest” and “moderate” in describing economic activity around the country over the past six weeks. The Beige Book economic survey, prepared for the late April meeting of Fed policymakers, points fingers at a variety of factors that have been dampening growth. Some issues, such as the since-resolved

Wednesday, January 14, 2015 4:34 pm
By Mark Hamrick ·

The Fed sees falling oil prices as good news and bad news for the economy.

Wednesday, December 03, 2014 4:06 pm
By Mark Hamrick ·

The Fed sees positive impacts from cheaper gasoline but is not so upbeat about raises.

Wednesday, September 03, 2014 4:20 pm
By Sheyna Steiner ·

A new Fed report finds improvement in the economy, though not necessarily in paychecks.

Wednesday, July 16, 2014 5:22 pm
By Mark Hamrick ·

The Federal Reserve finds plenty of signs of a rebound from the winter slump.

Wednesday, June 04, 2014 4:14 pm
By Mark Hamrick ·

A new Fed survey indicates the economy is picking up steam but still has issues.

Wednesday, April 16, 2014 4:16 pm
By Allison Ross ·

The Fed finds that the winter thaw has helped the economy rebound from cold-weather slowdowns.

Page 1 of 3123