CD rates Blog

Thursday, July 31, 2014 11:54 am
By Sheyna Steiner · Bankrate.com

Rates on certificates of deposit are drifting through the summer doldrums. The Bankrate national average CD rates were unmoved all month. The Bankrate national average one-year CD yield was 0.23 percent in July. The average five-year yield was 0.79 percent. But in some pockets of the country, CD rates are on fire — relatively speaking.  

» Read more
Saturday, July 19, 2014 6:30 am
By Allison Ross · Bankrate.com

Promotional specials on CDs often don’t appear to be enough to draw consumers to deposit money into CDs.

» Read more
Wednesday, July 9, 2014 6:00 am
By Sheyna Steiner · Bankrate.com

What happens when you have to take your required minimum distribution?

» Read more
Wednesday, June 25, 2014 6:00 am
By Allison Ross · Bankrate.com

Banks will keep an eye on their CDs and monitor changes in deposit bases as interest rates rise.

» Read more
Friday, June 20, 2014 10:30 am
By Sheyna Steiner · Bankrate.com

Don’t just walk into your local bank branch expecting to find competitive CD rates.

» Read more
Friday, June 13, 2014 9:00 am
By Allison Ross · Bankrate.com

Forgetting about that CD can mean lost interest income on your money.

» Read more
Monday, June 2, 2014 11:00 am
By Sheyna Steiner · Bankrate.com

FINRA last week issued a warning to investors being contacted about high-yield CDs.

» Read more
Tuesday, May 27, 2014 5:16 pm
By Allison Ross · Bankrate.com

These charts help to understand how yields and consumer attitudes have affected CD rates.

» Read more
Wednesday, May 21, 2014 2:52 pm
By Sheyna Steiner · Bankrate.com

Making savings decisions based on gut instinct can sometimes lead to poor choices.

» Read more
Wednesday, April 16, 2014 4:19 pm
By Sheyna Steiner · Bankrate.com

CD rates are stuck in a rut, but some cities have much higher rates than others.

» Read more
Page 1 of 2412345...1020...Last »