Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Wednesday, February 22, 2017 3:11 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

Minutes released from the most recent meeting, which ended Feb. 1, indicate policymakers are clearly focused on the possibility of raising rates “fairly soon,” as they say.

Friday, February 03, 2017 11:15 am
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

In contrast to the dramatic recent changes in Washington, the January employment report from the Labor Department includes some familiar themes.

Wednesday, January 18, 2017 4:44 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

A report prepared for the Federal Reserve’s upcoming interest rate meeting indicates the economy is on course.

Friday, January 06, 2017 9:57 am
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

The Labor Department says the nation’s unemployment rate rose a tenth of a percent to 4.7 percent in December. Some 156,000 jobs were added to payrolls.

Wednesday, January 04, 2017 4:22 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

In the wake of the election, the Federal Reserve indicates there’s some uncertainty about the future course of interest rates.

Friday, December 02, 2016 11:02 am
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

Unemployment has fallen to a nine-year low, but challenges — including slow wage growth — remain.

Wednesday, November 09, 2016 2:40 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

The election of Donald Trump raises questions about the Fed chair and the next rate hike.

Sunday, November 06, 2016 5:15 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

The October unemployment data is likely to keep the Fed on track toward a December rate hike.

Thursday, November 03, 2016 6:05 am
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

Hiring has been steady, but wage gains have been sluggish. Will this week’s jobs report change that?

Monday, October 31, 2016 6:00 am
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

The Federal Reserve faces something of a timing dilemma: Should it raise interest rates in early November or mid-December? Or at all?

Page 1 of 4212345...102030...Last »