Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Wednesday, September 07, 2016 4:43 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

A Fed report indicates hiring is heating up, but maybe not enough to prompt a rate hike.

Friday, August 26, 2016 12:46 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

In her highly anticipated speech at a conference of central bankers in Jackson Hole, Wyoming, Federal Reserve Chair Janet Yellen noted that the U.S. economy is “now nearing the Federal Reserve’s statutory goals of maximum employment and price stability.”

Wednesday, August 17, 2016 4:36 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

Notes from the last Federal Reserve meeting don’t make the Fed’s plans any clearer.

Friday, August 05, 2016 9:59 am
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

Another strong jobs report suggests fears of fallout from the U.K.’s decision to bolt the EU were overdone.

Monday, July 25, 2016 6:00 am
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

The U.S. economy is on fire. So what’s keeping the Federal Reserve from raising interest rates?

Monday, July 18, 2016 6:00 am
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

The Republican National Convention kicks off today in Cleveland. Hey, is that a Pokemon over there?!

Wednesday, July 13, 2016 4:17 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

The Fed’s new Beige Book economic survey says the economy is growing and some jobs are going begging.

Monday, July 11, 2016 6:05 am
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

The economy still has some stuff to work on, but it’s making a comeback.

Friday, July 08, 2016 10:26 am
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

Employers added a stunning number of jobs to their payrolls in June, but unemployment rose.

Monday, July 04, 2016 6:00 am
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

Market turbulence and uncertainty about the U.S. election are weighing on the economy. They aren’t helping consumer confidence either.

Page 1 of 4112345...102030...Last »