career

9 social media no-nos at a new job

Don't delete old colleagues
Don't delete old colleagues © Gajus/Shutterstock.com

Don't delete old colleagues

While you may have moved on from your old job, it almost never makes sense to delete old colleagues, according to Matthew Jonas, president of TopFire Media, a Chicago-based digital marketing agency.

"Deleting old colleagues can be a sign that you are someone who is prone to burning professional bridges," Jonas says. "Unless there is a legitimate reason, (like) if the colleague is especially hostile toward you or might somehow sabotage your career through a post, I'd strongly discourage new employees from deleting old colleagues."

In fact, there's actually a lot of upside to keeping those connections because social media can be such a strong networking tool.

"You never know which one of your former colleagues will become your newest team member down the road," Jonas says.

advertisement

Show Bankrate's community sharing policy
          Connect with us
  • Apply for a Private Student Loan to pay for your education
  • Find Rates
advertisement
advertisement
advertisement

Connect with us