* Six years if contract is for payment of money.
** Five years if promissory note is added to a bill of sale.
+ The applicable statue of limitations in Maine and Massachusetts on a debt owed to a bank or on a promissory note signed before a witness is 20 years. (Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. Tit.14, s 751; Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 260, s 1.)
*** Vermont's statue of limitations on a promissory note signed before a witness is 14 years.